in the middle of traffic jam

D was drivng his car on our way to Makati for our weekly Saturday ritual…just-hanging-out-together…when a cute little boy(about 5 years old) knocked to my window and said “ate bili ka na ng sampaguita”. i actually dislike sampaguita scent and it’s just really not my habit of buying anything while in a car on the streets. so i knocked back and said “pasensya na”. but the little boy knocked again and to my surprise i was not at all annoyed…i am biased maybe coz the little boy is indeed cutie-much like a star struck baby! *wink*

opened my window and gave him P20. the kid was so haaaaappy that he ran to his sister (i imagined she is) who’s selling sampaguita too.

he forgot to give me the flowers I bought for P20. but seeing him jovially running to tell her sibling of his latest earning, I didn’t mind not getting his flowers.

couple of seconds past, and he came back knocking again to my window. “Ate, nakalimutan ko po, pasensya na” handing to me the sampaguita flowers he forgot to give….OH! how sweeet! he could have ran away with P20 in his pocket and still have his flowers to sell(thus making his earning double), but he returned to me with one of the sincerest face I’ve seen. when I refuse to accept the flowers and said, “sa yo na yan”, it was as if he’s saying “talaga po?pro baket po?”

I just smiled back and said, “sige na, at Go na, baka masagasaaan ka pa, umuwi na kayo ng kapatid mo”

i admired the boy’s values. his gesture of going back to give me my flowers revealed so much of his character…i hope there are still a lot of kids out there, despite being exposed to poverty at their tender age, understand what it is to be person of great character!

…haaay! i hope to have a street kid foundation…someday…please.

 

0 Responses to “in the middle of traffic jam”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

