because i am happy :-)

i sat inside the café and finished my café mocha, ordered more than an hour ago. i thought of spending my last hours inside the café, until clock signals me to cross the street and go to school cos it’s my turn to defend. i walked inside the room with all my 3 panelists staring at me. they gave me that wondering look, if i’m actually the engineer who wrote the strategic proposition. my guess was right when one of my panelists asked, “you’re an engineer?”. i courteously answered, “yes sir, completed two degrees, civil eng’g and environmental & sanitary eng’g. i qualified too in dpwh’s material engineering exam, which makes me eligible to practice this discipline too”. then the chairperson asked me to proceed with my presentation. it was the longest 60minutes of my life. only god knows how many sets of Q&A we had. i know i should not be nervous but the thought of not knowing (as in zero knowledge even after background checking) one of my panelists makes my stomach churn. it’s difficult not to be able to know how this chap infront of me thinks and moreso how he’d toss questions to me. would he give me a hard time? did he read my scope and limitations? will he ask me accounting ratios? and all other things i dread to be asked. sweating of my palms stopped when i realized my panelists are not sitting there to terrorize me or what. they are just there to evaluate my proposition and to comment on its effectivity. i started feeling a bit at ease as the defense went along. i’ve had like 4 or 5 out-of-the-box questions, but i am very pleased that my composure let me think coherently to give the most logical answer. you see I’m technical, and who am i to stand infront of this group who eats economic indexes, accounting ratios, marketing strategies, statistics and other business jargons for breakfast? but i thank my luv for reading, that periodics like wall street, business mirror, forbes and inspirational management books have been my constant staple. not to mention my hobby to lurk to business/management-related websites…all these attributable to my growing interest in the business world. and thanks too that this interest was nurtured inside the walls of ateneo.

so there, i was smiling sheepishly whilst closing my laptop as my 60minute defense concluded. next thing i knew is i’m sms-ing almost all the people listed on my mobile and ending my message with my full name and the new 3-letter-suffix to it! cheeky bugger i know!hahahaha! but my git ceo replied, phd on your name is so much better. i was like…d-oh!!! :p

celebration followed in our official tambayan at GER-rockwell. my alterego though was not there. but we had a great time drinking and munching and laughing our hearts out. it’s a night of merriment indeed :-)

my friend A scored their les miz tickets. waaah! grabe! i really wanna see it. three reasons why i soo soo luv to see it: 1.) i’m.lea’s.fan 2.) fell inluv with les miz story 3.) i’m.lea’s.fan. the moment i learned lea is back on stage, geeeez! i’m like a noranian or a vilmanian lurking at les miz site. even dug my good ol’ victor hugo’s work from my old books pile so i can read it again. arrrrg! if only i could just swing to broadhurst and see lea play fantine. i’m a 3rd world citizen who can’t see a show in nyc at a whim. pffft! i just hope she’d record it :-) hahaha!


got my paraphernalia for the 10th june run this afternoon. woot! woot!

randomness 011

have not seen my brit friend N for the longest time already. so we thought of having a dinner to catch up. but the heavy rain last tuesday, made us just go to capones. he asked if i could pick him up, but eeeeks! got no car with me that day. (or i must say most days – i walk my way to office to save gas, parking fees and of course save the earth, hello to clean air!:p). as soon as he settled, he handed me my favorite vice.

randomness 018

wooot!wooot! i lost my 1st copy (someone borrowed it i forgot who :-( but i can’t bring myself to buy a new one here cos it’s still on hard bound and pricey. so i am uber happy to see its replacement all the way from hk. he’s learning the art of pasalubong me thinks. yay! i like it when friends give me presents on an ordinary day. hello to all my generous friends out there.! :p

13 Responses to “because i am happy :-)”


  1. 1 abbyG. 31 May, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    bru, so tapos na ang kalbaryo? MBA na? “congratulates! keep it up the good work” heheee. :)

    sabi ko naman sa inyo eh, ica-camcorder ko when i watch eh! :D

  2. 2 banggigay 31 May, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    oh yes finish na. oh no i know i’m missing the campus already :(

    yay! pls pls record it and upload it in youtube :-) hahaha! so cheap kainis! :p

  3. 3 sardonicnell 1 June, 2007 at 12:54 am

    congratulations bangge! grabe na eto, you’re so accomplish na talaga. how i wish i could finish my MPA soon, wish ko lang. hehehe. (paano ko ba matatapos kong pailan-ilan lang units na kinukuha ko)

    congrats po ulit and God bless!

  4. 4 banggigay 1 June, 2007 at 1:03 am

    ay maraming salamat po :) pro sa totoo lang lakas ng bilib ko s mga CPA’ers! up to now i can’t claim i can do an FS without a sweat.

    on being accomplished, i believe it would only happen once i’ve learned i’m able to touch a heart or inspire a soul. unless my scorecard says so, life remains a constant pursuit to be better :-)

  5. 5 sardonicnell 1 June, 2007 at 1:36 am

    you’re welcome bangge! kahit ako minsan eh nahihirapan din sa financial reporting. over the years, paiba iba kasi ang standards and we had to adapt to that new or revised FRS. pero nalulusutan rin, hehehe. hopefully by next year eh matapos ko rin ang MPA na pinapangarap ko. i’ve added healthcare administration option din kasi (since i do accounting for hospitals) kaya natagalan. hehehe.

    on being accomplished, im sure you’ve touched a heart or inspired a soul (di mo lang siguro namamalayan). i myself am inspired about your lifes journey and your continous pursuit to be better.

    cheers to you, my friend!

  6. 6 E-Rod 1 June, 2007 at 5:57 am

    I somehow wandered to your site from Jaymie’s and hitme64’s. Have fun and good luck on your upcoming race.

    After seeing your book, I started to wonder, where the heck is my copy of that book. I don’t think I’ve finished it yet.

  7. 7 hitme64 1 June, 2007 at 10:56 am

    congratulations bang!somehow i always knew you’d make it…strong, persevering and accomplished that you are…keep up the good work!(i finish my MPA in…how many more months? 14 pa…woohoooh!)

    so you ready to rumble on june 10? tandem kayo ng anak ko sa 5k…sayang you should have entered the 10k…

  8. 8 banggigay 1 June, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    nel, cheers! thanks for the props! :-)

    hitme64, i asked nctr if its possible should i change my mind on sun to go instead for the 10k and not the 5k. they said i just need to approach the desk 30mins before the first bang. really wnat to do 10k, but i’d be coming from fuego that night and you know :p i wouldnt know if i’d have a good rest for an early morning dash. BUT, if id really take the 5k, id luv to run in tandem with ur kid :-)

    hi e.rod! welcome to my crib!i lurk to your site from time to time too, cos i often see you at jaymie’s :-) feel free to have a caffeine overdose here.

  9. 9 hitme64 1 June, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    do the 10k bang…i’ll run in tandem with you don’t worry :D…sometimes you just need that push to eventually go with the flow of things…later on, you’ll realize it was not only the right thing to do but the best thing you did…

    you and i have something in common with facing the dread of panelists and examiners…hie over to my blog and read it firsthand hehehe

    enjoy the weekend…prep for the 10k…but don’t forget to taper…and don’t worry about your fuego trip…enjoy, come back, race, rest…

    :D

  10. 10 bullrunner 1 June, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Hey banggigay, wow congrats for finishing your thesis! And yeah ateneo!

    Looking forward to meeting you on race day! :)

  11. 11 banggigay 4 June, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    thanks jaymie :-) ciao on 10th! cheers!

  12. 12 tutubi 18 July, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    gusto ko rin nya Le miz :)

  13. 13 banggigay 19 July, 2007 at 11:26 am

    kainis noh? it’s not like going to MOA and watch her perform.


Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

Vids dumping

Vids dumping

More Photos

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

