a new affair :-)

last sunday was my very first 10k run (you should see me whilst writing this, you could tell i’m ecstatic!) hence i wanna account it in details. hahaha! you are free though not to go that far on this :-)

1. i ran almost 3 mos then stopped for a month then two weeks before the kotr, i pushed myself to run 7-8k daily. regardless if i had a good rest or if i’m doing it correctly. got several leg pains but i’m sooo stubborn to finally try it.

2. a day before the run, went to roxas blvd to do a test run for the 10k. mind you! i was crazy to run at 9am! it was effing hoooot!!! after i finished the 10k more for almost 2hours, was all knackered, i thought i’d collapse right there at ccp complex. good thing i didn’t :p

3. went back to my flat in makati and slept for like more than 4 hours. something i’m not suppose to do. i’ve earlier said my body can only afford 4hours of sleep a day if i go beyond that i get nauseous. so there, right after i had my 5pm lunch (oh yes that late!) my head was turning and stomach was churning! arrrrg!

4. but my dad wanted me to go home (folk’s house) and said he’ll pick me up. waaah! i cant let him see me at this state (hours before my run)! he’d definitely NOT let me do it! waaaah!

5. so i pretended whilst in the car, i got an upset stomach. i said i feel like throwing-up but assured him it’s nothing. i just overate dinner again :-)

6. was up at 4am. took me only 10mins to have a quick shower and prepare myself to drive to quirino grandstand! geeez! that’s a personal best for me in my driving feat! i drove to the grandstand from my folks’ house in caloocan (boundary of qc-caloocan-bulacan) less than 45mins!

7. arrived minutes before the opening ceremony started. got touched how the national anthem was sung in the early break of dawn by all these health buff runners. for a moment again i am a proud pinoy! you’d think it’s OA of me, but go ask all the other runners yesterday ;-)

8. didn’t see anyone at the baggage counter. happy feet members agreed meeting there before and after the run. but geeez! i saw no one there. i’m suppose to be seeing also hitme64 so we can run together, but i can’t find him.

9. thousands of runners (at a guess) are already flocked at 21K. i was soo dumb not to think it’s infact the flock of 10k and 5k runners. i was busy looking for the booth where to check in (have my bib validated). i just watched the runners launch whilst i was warming up. until like a little over 5 minutes have passed, i overheard a couple of runners asking where to register and someone answered “di na kailangan, basta tumakbo na kayo, nakaalis na ang mga 10k at 5k”, i was like “d-oooooh!!what am i doing?!” so next thing i knew, i was dashing my way in my attempt to cope with the lapsed time! arrrg! just how numpty head i could get! i should have asked around and i should have known better, that the run has indeed started!

10. 3k down the line, i was already catching my breath. had ran too fast and did not mind i might lose my energy right away. so tried to pace. spoke to myself also whilst pacing, i need not to force myself, and just take things in stride. just enjoy the run and care not on PRs. was already pretty cool about it when oh no! midway at the flyover, saw jaymie (i knew it’s her!) and hitme64 already on their way back. they looked to me as if they have just started. and there i was, almost lost my energy on my first quarter of the run, and still reconciling my mind and my legs to just finish the race. waaaah! it hit me that, ok, i’m complacently running, but actually i’m way waaay behind all the peeps i know. sure there are still lots of peeps behind me, but come on, either they are boyfriends-girlfriends walking side by side, or a pa-cute lass with her labrador (with singlet and bib too), or a lolo or lola for that matter. and i wasn’t even close to my average pace.

11. but i don’t want to entertain any negative thoughts cos it’s only my mind that keeps me going. i was quick to reassure myself, “just run banggigay, and have fun” haha!

12. couple of more minutes i’m at the finish line at 1’20” official time. my nano & nike + set recorded 1’15” though. (read: there was a difference cos i started late see #9)

13. i was soo hungry whilst i was running and it even came to me that i’d collapse not because my legs gave-up on me but my stomach did. bought a cracker right away and taho (soybean custard). then i remembered i need to call hitme64 & jaymie. went back to my car, then called them up. awwww! they both left already. waaaah. didn’t get the chance again to meet tbr again.

14. went back to the stage,and watched for a while the awarding ceremony. then headed off to makati, to sleep all day. hahaha!

adidas kotr 060

adidas kotr 051

 

i know my finish is utterly mediocre, but i still am very pleased :-) i have all the reasons already not to run, but i know if i didn’t do it then, i will never really know how i’d fare. and i’d forever turn chicken whenever there’s a run. i now know it felt so much better running side by side with other peeps who really find joy in running notwithstanding one’s level of competency. it could have been amazing if i was able to meet the peeps i only get to connect with online. but there’s a next time for this…who knows on the next milo marathon?;-)

adidas kotr 063

and my best realization…???

this aint gonna be my last run…it’s just the start of my affair with running! had a great time! see you guys on the next run!:-)

 

PS:

tbr congrats to your new PR! galing mo sobra!
hitme64, i owe it to you to be better! and i promise to be earlier next time. i felt autistic talking to myself whilst running!:-)
happy feet chaps, will see you guys!
hi anton! i saw you finish your 21k!props to you!


cheers to all of us!

19 Responses to “a new affair :-)”


  1. 1 lino 3 July, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    ey, congrats on your run, at least you finished… :)
    if your in CDO, dont forget to try the infamouse white water river rafting, i think you should go to the advance course, the beginners is not that thrilling… :)
    on your way back after the rafting, try the macahambus adventure park for skybridge, rappelling and zipline…
    if your in CDO on friday night, check out the divisoria night cafe, where they close the whole street and set up chairs and tables for all sorts of inihaw and live band performances…
    in camiguin, we stayed at Paras Beach resort, where it is the closest to white island. when going to white island, better go there early in the morning, where it’s not yet crowded and the sun si not yet scorching heat. we rented a multi cab and manong driver took us to the old volcanovia crusis, sunken cemetery, sto. niño cold spring, katibawasan falls and ardent hot springs… :)
    have fun!!!!!!!!! dont forget the pictures…. :)

  2. 2 thess 3 July, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Oh wow! You must be in a top condition! I really admire you runners for that.
    more power to you and your future runs :)

    (got here via Lino’s page)

  3. 3 banggigay 3 July, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    lino, thanks for the props! can i PM you? been to camiguin/cdo actually last year but missed the falls, macahambus and the volcanovia. was just there for a little over 15hours and chilled out longer at the white island :-)

    thess, welcome to my crib! :-) you’ve got a thing for beauty eh? lurked to your site and you know how to put life to even the most trivial thing! will exchange links with you! ;)

    cheers!

  4. 4 e-rod 4 July, 2007 at 3:46 am

    congrats on your first race, banggi. you did it. and hey, 1:20 is a pr right now until the next time. you’re an animal for running 10k the day before your 10k race. great job on hanging in there. too bad you didn’t get to hook up with hitme, jaymie and the other happy feet.

    welcome to the dark side :) better get used to explaining to people why you like to run.

  5. 5 hitme64 4 July, 2007 at 5:30 am

    wooot woooot! hehe, next time we go together…that’s the run to bring hope 2007 on the 29th…am skipping the milo elims since we can still run on the national finals in november…so hie over and register for the 29th…

    this time around, we’ll see what we can do to slash off that 20 minutes from your time…

    :D

  6. 6 renz 4 July, 2007 at 9:51 am

    “just run banggigay, and have fun” – i like this one.

    congrats pretty_banggigay!

  7. 7 banggigay 4 July, 2007 at 10:37 am

    uy e-rod thanks. aye, PR for now :-) actually just now i realised i was crazy to run the day before the kotr. and i cna’t say we’re on the dark side having this running affair, as my cliche, ‘in here it’s brighter than sunshine’ :-)

    hitme64, ok cge. ill reg for the run to bring hope. ill convince my other friend (who is now also a convert, haha!) to run instead on 29th.

    renz, sayang didn’t see you guys there! :-( next time, k? sa baggage counter kase! ;-)

  8. 8 bullrunner 4 July, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Banggi! Hitme told me that you had so much stories to tell—as early as the first phone call right after the race—but I didn’t know this much happened! Meron pa palang pre-race run (please don’t try that again hahaha), fake tummy ache, and late start. Ang exciting naman! For the nth time, congratulations on your first race!

    Next time you see me running, sumigaw ka naman. If I see you, I’ll do the same. Hahaha :)

  9. 9 banggigay 4 July, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    hahah! i’d surely listen to the veteran you :-) mejo ni-gauge ko kase if i can do the 10k eh. thus did that pre-run. and next time, i’d make sure, i’d be early so we can warm-up together. deadma na ang running with you muna, for now (yes! very hopeful eh?), i can’t cope with you. :-) ang galing nyo eh! :-) i’d target first a “close-to-1hr-finish” for 10k. :-)

  10. 10 sardonicnell 4 July, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    bangge, congrats to you! galing naman, natapos mo yong 10K run =)

  11. 11 banggigay 5 July, 2007 at 1:22 am

    nel, it wasn’t really a good finish. but for novice runners with but low benchmark like me…h-aaaapppy na ko! :-) hope to improve on my next though! :-)

  12. 12 iRonnie 5 July, 2007 at 11:33 am

    can’t see myself running a 10k marathon.. not even a 5k. though i wanted to do some running i always experience cramping. kulang lang siguro sa warm-up at practice.

    btw, thanks for the visit. ;)

  13. 13 fathertime 5 July, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    mare, sori talaga di na ako makakasama sa camiguin huhuhuhu.. d lang memo ibibigay sa’kin nun, baka suspended pa ako…. waaaaaaahhhhhhh :(

  14. 14 banggigay 5 July, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    ronnie, aye. if you try running, you’d build up the power to run further. cge na..try mo! :-) btw, ill link you over.

    kiddo, anovah? bahala na si batman! cdo? camiguin? with free return tickets? geeez! it’s too much for an offer! dedma na sa memo! hahaha! we’ll have a blastful weekend rafting, rapelling, chilling out! tara na!

  15. 15 fathertime 5 July, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    huhuhuhuhuwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh
    :( :( :( :( :(

    i’d love to, but waaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh
    :( :( :( :( :(

    still undecided, si niel nalang sama mo or si shek or what about yung magjowa na kbigan mo?

    waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh

    SAYANG!

  16. 16 fathertime 5 July, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    juice ko, juice ko! bakit iniwan mo ako!
    :(

  17. 17 banggigay 5 July, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    kiddo, i cant stress enough how amazing this escapade can be…up to you man!

  18. 18 caloyb 7 July, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Doing 10K in the 9am heat of Manila the day before a race? I don’t know what to say. You should have been resting, and reserving all that pent up energy for the main thing – but no! Haha! I believe you would have had a better PR without that “crazy” run, but it was a good one nonetheless.

    “this aint gonna be my last run…it’s just the start of my affair with running! had a great time!

    Welcome to the club!


  1. 1 o.O » Blog Archive » adidas kotr 2007 Trackback on 4 July, 2007 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

