again

after a month of resting my knees from running, and religiously follow what my doctor advised me: no red meat, light training, no running etc..i readied myself for my come back run. registered for the GK 1 World for a 10K run.

only to be disappointed when my left knee let me down once more :-( after just around a kilometer of the stretch, told M of h@ppy feet (cos we ran side by side) that i feel pain inside my left knee, right where it hurt when i had the patella chuchu.

he said though, “don’t push it just walk and you can make it”. so i let him to go ahead with his pace, whilst i try to compose myself and convince my legs, pain is manageable. but after the roundabout at MOA’s globe, pain is becoming nasty which started the battle inside of me. i was talking to myself, “hey, you can just walk but still finish the race. it’s not about hitting the desired time for now, but just reaching the finish tape.” but as i console myself longer, the pain grows stronger. i almost cried of severe pain, but thought better. i took the right turn, headed to the parking lot and took off my bib number.

i know, if i listen to my stubborn self, chances are, my patella injury would get worsen. it was the longest 50m of my life going back to my car. legs are heavy but nothing compares to the heaviness in my chest. i felt a lump in my throat too, realizing what i just did. i gave up the race, and voluntarily quit.

yeah, i’m not as good as the other h@ppyfeeters who run sub-60 or sub-50 (minutes) for 10k…and honestly i’m used to being at the tail-end of the run. something i am not really ashamed of, cos i know like all the others, i enjoy my every run regardless what the clock records.

but, a DNF thing is a different story. without sugarcoating, it’s quitting.

if i was weaker, i just left and drove home without seeing my other HF friends. but i comforted myself, and went back to the finish lane whilst the other HF runners finish their course. afterall, i’ve not seen them in ages, i miss the company of good passionate people.

i haven’t told them this, but they inspire me not just on running but on a greater sense. there’s this running mum, some with injuries but still hit amazing time lapses, the old injured chap, my OL confidante, the small but terrible catwoman, the part-time singer part-time running librarian, the lawatserong runner, the lanky one who trains secretly daw (?) in UP (haha!)…these and more who run for different reasons but share the same passion and what’s great about them is once they tie the shoelaces of their running shoes, they know no mediocrity. they are in constant pursuit to excel. nakakaaliw!

growing h@ppy feet

anyway, am i over the pain of last saturday’s DNF run?..no, but it no longer bothers me that much. ..

and has the knee pain subsided?…actually it’s more painful today. but i am seeing a doctor tomorrow, and let’s take it from there.

do i still see hope after having these injuries when my best times are yet to be recorded? oh yes! :-) even with this nasty pain, i am positive to still fully recover. it may not be sooner than i wanted, and perhaps i won’t be able to join more races this year. but i know, i’d get back in shape. i just know i would. afterall, i’ve got inspiration from my HF friends, how can i be discouraged? :-)

13 Responses to “again”


  1. 1 renz 29 October, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    one of the HF gremlins once said “even the elite runners suffer from injuries, in fact even the best runners had injuries”.. malay mo, you’re an elite in the making! ;)

    ako injury ko ngayon work. hirap. super sakit. :)
    sabi ko… i should really stop this nonsense and start running again.. my reason for being there at GK1WORLD.

    easy lang, your injury will come to pass. race pace tayo when you get back on track!

  2. 2 renz 29 October, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    wish ko din pala bangs sana yung next group pic…

    yung kita mukha ko! :)

  3. 3 aabbeegee 29 October, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    oks lang yan bru, sa susunod uli! feel better, ok? :)

  4. 4 rick 30 October, 2007 at 2:41 am

    Sorry to hear about the knee pain coming back but I really think you did the right thing. If I had been in your position I would have done the exact same thing and I’ve survived some really nasty races. Not all pain is significant and it’s worth enduring to the end but if you think you are doing real damage then it’s best to stop. Besides the knee is nothing to mess with. Live to run another day I say. As you found out, sometimes its harder to do the right thing. Go see a sports physician, one who knows what it’s like to be an athlete. One who can give you some exercises to strengthen the knee.

    Nice pic, I actually re-cognize someone else in the picture.

  5. 5 joms 30 October, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    So I just got back to work after a long weekend. Trying to go through tons of emails and other work backlogs. Lunch time gave me the chance to browse my usual blog-haunts. This being one of it. But woe of woes! Am I the person alluded to by this entry, ” …lanky guy who trains secretly (daw) in UP “?! Banggi how could you?! I know I’m svelte, no problems with that, but questioning my clandestine running routine?? That’s just going too far!

    Just kidding! =)
    Get well really quick, there’s still a whole bunch of races before the year ends!

  6. 6 banggigay 30 October, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    renz, this time of the year i get busy with work also, so ditto! :-) i just wish, knee wont be swollen anymore for the next training run.

    abbyg, yeah. trade offs pa rin talga!

    rick, actually i dont know where to get that sports physician. my doctor is from makati med, i’ll check with med city if they have that. for now, mefenamic pills keep me sane. and who did you recognise here? ;-)

    joms, ok, say oddly tall. would that sound better? :-) hahaha! and the training…yeah! the salcedo runners know it for a fact! hhahah!, you upper 50 runner! :-)

  7. 7 tutubi 30 October, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    the spirit is willing but the flesh is…injured. maybe you need to look into something else while recovering :P

  8. 8 Ferdz 30 October, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Take it easy for now. I think I had 4-6months before my running injury completely recovered. Onga. Try to look into some other activities muna.

  9. 9 bullrunner 31 October, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Banggi, as they say, this too shall come to pass. Just be patient and follow doctor’s orders (no cheating!) and I’m sure you’ll be running again. Stay positive! :)

  10. 10 banggigay 31 October, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    tutubi, yeah. thus i’m into swimming/diving lately too. at least i’d have something to do whilst recovering. with those activities, there’s no stress to my knees :-)

    ferdz, seriously???? 4-6 months? wot was your injury? i’m not sure if i’d be that patient if it were me.

    jaymie, yeah. patience. patience. patience. i opt to have one, so i can cope with your raging bull run :-)

  11. 11 rick 1 November, 2007 at 6:06 am

    I’d ask the other runners about a doctor recommendation. Here we have the doctors who are not athletes and think you should stop running and then we have the doctors who actually help because they are athletes themselves. I’m sure it’s the same there. General practice physicians are usually no help.

    I recognized TheBullRunner.

  12. 12 yhe27 2 November, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    wish ko lang makita ko pics ng eastern visayas team with tito rey balatayo,and pics ni tito tony
    thanks

  13. 13 TRF 13 November, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    The way you pose It looks like it really hurts a lot (j/k :)). rest ur knees Banggi and hope by the time you return here we can do some light running n drinkin maybe? hheheh 2gether with Chaia, ok c u :)


Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

