rundezvous :-)

i turned into an office slob since i got an offshore work assignment. inevitably i gained whopping 13lbs!!!

and believe me, it’s not just because i don’t look good with that excess flabby, but it’s more of i.dont.feel.good.about.myself.already!

but like a story of luv-hate relationship, i’m back to my running affair. for the past weeks, i giddily tie my running shoe laces to do an hour or so easy run. nothing beats a kiss-and- make-up thing you know ;-) my night runs get sweeter. even a downpour can’t ruin my date.

and so to mark our anniversary, i had M register me for the adidas KOTR. ohhh how can i miss KOTR??! my very first road race was last year’s KOTR! :-)

so friday night was dedicated for ultimate carbo loading!!! italiani’s alfredo wooohoo! but hey!!! that chardonnay’s perfect to complete the eve of celebration. but the tequila sunrise we consumed was the culprit!

alarm clock was set to 4am for the 550 shot gun! but dooooh! alcohol was sooo powerful i let my phone snooze till 5. boooo!

god knows how fast we drove to the fort. but all i know is it seems like an eternity to cross the street from 32nd street to 5th avenue!

why??

10K runners already took off!!! waah! i was still on steering wheel when i saw tbr pounding the kalayaan flyover! yeaaah! i was that late! runners have ran a quarter of the leg when i entered the fort. 34m:28s has lapsed already when i took off. boooo!

these are the randomness of things that occupied my head during the race like when you’re late:

– you’d get to see all the running buddies you’ve missed for the past months. one by one you’d see them or hear them “elo bangge, late ka?!” “bangge you’re baaaack”. was a good feeling really seeing old buddies like mon, joy, renz, and my fellow BWK margaloo. but it’s so uncool that they saw me on their way back whilst i have just started running!

– i should always put on some SPF before the run. yes gun shot’s at 6, but hey! if you’re running at my speed you’ll never know when the UV rays of morning sun hits you! worse in my case, i was late so sun was already up on my way back to the finish line! i got burnt BIG time!

– i noticed how frequent i turned my head whilst running to see if there are still runners behind me. hahahah! i was sooo late and wasn’t running too fast that i had this nagging notion that marshals would soon call for my attention and say: “Runner No. 5379 we’re sweeping you off” and just how embarrassing would that be eh?

– it’s not the sun, nor the killer flyover with it’s crazy grade but it’s the POLLUTION from the morning traffic that impaired me from my running speed. Believe me, I should have worn a mask during the race

so next time, i promise to myself, and to all my fellow road pounders … I.SHALL.BE.THERE.ON.TIME!

and hey! to adidas and to RACE, pleassssse…serve the runners with bottled water…not some tap water from a mobile water tank and being poured to plastic caps using a bathroom “tabo”! i’m not OC and all but come on! you don’t expect us to drink an untreated water like that, do you? we are not even requesting for an energy drink like what we had during PIA where Rush was overflowing in several water stations. and yes speaking of stations, there’s only one station for the 10K route. arrrrg!

but ok ok, back to my jovial self. i will rank this race as one of my top fave:

– it was a comeback run. and it’s a sweet reconciliation to say the least :-)

– it’s a BWK reunion run! wooohoo!

– i fared well speedwise. i know it’s neither a notable PR nor an excellent time. but to run again after 6months and being able to keep a steady pace ( i hardly walked wooohoo!) is something a little achiever like me celebrates :-)

– and the best part of the race??? i finished it pain & injury free! yay! i’m so grateful that my legs didn’t let me down and my knees delivered without a glitch! wootwoot!

my timer showed 69m:44s.

was i happy? oh yeah! deliriously happy! :-) not bad for a come back eh? :-)

erick_marga_moi_pj

team bwk at KOTR

PS:

*i really wish though that in the upcoming races an upsize mcdonald’s strawberry milkshake would be given away at the finish line, so i’d pound the streets harder! hehehe!

*i’ve lost btw 8lbs already, and the scale is still moving :-)

10 Responses to “rundezvous :-)”


  1. 1 joy 13 October, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    banggi! super pagod na ako paakyat ng flyover but when i saw you all smiles and heard your voice natawa ako..walang kupas ka… late ka pa din haha…. congrats!

  2. 2 banggigay 14 October, 2008 at 4:33 am

    muwahahaha! i was soo excited to see so many familiar faces again. but after the U-turn, geeee! i was already forcing a smile. i got tired of that seemingly endless flyover. booo!

  3. 3 rorenz 14 October, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    ako di ko inisip na late ka. inisip ko you were that slow! hahahaha

    joke lang bangs! :) was just glad to see you.
    welcome back sa atin! hehehe.

  4. 4 banggigay 14 October, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    bwahahahaah! gagu ka kuya tics! oo slow ako but not as slow as that being at the tail end!

    oy ang shuba mo ah?! hahahaah! balik ka na din sa running!

  5. 5 witchkitty 15 October, 2008 at 11:07 am

    congrats on the weight loss! woohoo!

  6. 6 thebullrunner 15 October, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Congrats Banggi! Back in the game ka na talaga! See you!

  7. 7 Bubu 16 October, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Anong “I feel big” ka diyan! What the eff. Haha!

  8. 8 marga 18 October, 2008 at 11:25 am

    WOOHOO BWK!!! O ano shall we do that Halloween costume run?

  9. 9 banggigay 20 October, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    chai, graaabe! napagod ako jan ah?! i was training like an absolute maniac for the past weeks. pro i’m kinda chillax now. :-)

    jaymie, yeah i am na! :-) kailangan eh!

    bu, pwamis i was BIG! where the heck are u, jetsetter?!

    margaloo, eyelike! but lemme check, cuz im not sure if im gonna be in manila by that time :-(

  10. 10 Running Diva 20 November, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Nice to know you’re back into action. Sayang we didn’t get the chance to see each other. See you soon in future races!


Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

