i miss ‘Nam!

“I can’t think of anything that excites a greater sense of childlike wonder than to be in a country where you are ignorant of almost everything. Suddenly you are five years old again. You can’t read anything, you have only the most rudimentary sense of how things work, you can’t even reliably cross a street without endangering your life. Your whole existence becomes a series of interesting guesses.”
– Bill Bryson

VN has become that to me. My daily grind in Saigon, may not be an epic adventure to others, but finding your feet to its norms, to its language, to its culture, to its food, to its coffee, to its people was that beautiful adventure I sometimes miss. I sometimes wish I’m back there peddling my way to survive the day to day challenge of working as an expat in a world totally different to mine, if only to experience again those times when everything can be as spontaneous as playing pool last night and fillin your backpack in the next hour in the attempt to sail the Mekong River and cross borders the next day. I miss the spur-of-the-moment invites of fellow expats to taking the motorbike to spend lazy weekend to some low-key islands further South. But I’m thankful to have these things written to my notebook, my moleskine. I just need that little corner in my room, raise my feet up and I can relive once more each adventure whenever I please.

This is an entry to Wanderlass Adventure Partner Contest

2 Responses to “i miss ‘Nam!”


  1. 1 chyng 28 March, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    hello!
    too bad, i didnt get the caretaker’s number.
    Nina has it. justwandering.org

    =)

  2. 2 wanderlass 28 March, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Awesome! thanks for the nostalgic entry. :)


Leave a Reply

tweeting here

categories

good ol’ brew

burst of colors

my luv affair to my islands


My Lakbayan grade is B+!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.
Stop Global Warming
Join the Greenpeace cyberactivist community and start making waves.
happy-feet-logo
PIA advocate
PG

eyeseeyou

website statistics
Touch a blogger: Tie a yellow ribbon for Cory Aquino!
free counters
iamninoy runner

